Mom’s Parmesan and Herb Crackers

It is Summer and it’s finally nice and warm outside, which means, it’s time for evenings spent with friends BBQing and enjoying the summer nights outside. Good food is of course a huge part of a great BBQ party, however I’m not much of a cook. I can cut vegetables and make salads, I can cut potatoes and and place them in the owen, however, that’s pretty much it. And that’s why I know how important it is to pay attention why my parents take over my kitchen!

I have mentioned before that my parents came to visit us in June and as much as we tried to impress them with the two or three tricks we know how to master in the kitchen, it did of course, as always, taste that much better that night when my parents took charge of the menu. My dad is an excellent chef and it’s amazing what he can create in the kitchen, my mom on the other hand was always more the bread and cake maker in our family. And having looked over my mom’s shoulder in the kitchen as she was here, I got a sniff of this great recipe; Parmesan and Herb Crackers!

Mamma's Crackers-1

This is a very simple and easy recipe, with other words perfect for me, and all you need is: flour, unsalted Butter, parmesan, dried herbs or a spice mix, freshly grounded pepper and Maldon salt.

Mamma's Crackers-7

This is what a recipe should look like!:) This one is handwritten and well used, that’s when you know that the finished product will taste great! At least that’s how it’s always been with my mom’s recipes, they are mostly handwritten in this old book of hers, but this book does also house some really wonderful tasting treats.

The Recipe for the Parmesan and Herb Crackers:

  • 2,75 dl Flour
  • 120g Unsalted Butter
  • 120g Parmesan
  • 1 tsp Dried Herbs or Spice Mix
  • a little Freshly grounded Pepper
  • a little Maldon Salt

Makes about 40 crackers!

Mamma's Crackers-2

Flour and softened butter in a bowl.

Mamma's Crackers-4

120g grated Parmesan Cheese, 1 tsp of dried herbs, a little pepper and a little salt, all together in the bowl and then all you need to do it just mix it together.

I’m sure you could buy Parmesan cheese that’s already been grated, but it’s doesn’t really take a lot of time to do it ourself and this way the cheese just seem fresher. And as for what type of herbs or spice mix to use; I have been using a Provence herb mix that they sell here at our local supermarket, but I’m sure you could try all kinds of different things you already have in our spice cabinet. This way you could also great your own cracker version!

Mamma's Crackers-3

The dough all nicely knead together

Mamma's Crackers-6

Then you roll our dough into a roll shape, rap it in saran wrap and place it in the fridge for at least 30 minutes.

Mamma's Crackers-5

When your roll has become nice and hard from it’s time in the fridge you can take a sharp knife and cut 2-3mm sized crackers.

Mamma's Crackers-8

Place all your little crackers on parchment paper and then let them bake for 8-10 minutes at 180 Degrees Celsius in our oven.

Mamma's Crackers-9

And this is what my about 40 little Parmesan and herb crackers looked like them I took them our of the oven! The thinner ones got a little crispier and darker than the thinker ones, but they were all very tasty!!:)

Mamma's Crackers-10

These little crackers are perfect as a little snack or as a part of appetizers when everyone is waiting for the BBQ grill get to warm!

Mamma's Crackers-11

And my lovely and wonderful Mom would say that these little crackers tastes the absolute best when accompanied with a glass of Champagne and enjoyed on a lovely summer afternoon!

Thank you Mom for letting me look over your shoulder, because these crackers turned out great and I got so many compliments for them for our guest! The crackers are a lot like potato chips in the sense that when you first had one, it’s very hard not to eat two, three or ten more!:)

– Christine

Gallery | This entry was posted in All about the things you can do yourself, Magic from the Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Mom’s Parmesan and Herb Crackers

  1. Brenda Acosta says:

    Yum, Yum!!! What an excellent idea….and it is making me hungry!!

  2. Gro says:

    I do think I have to visit your kitchen more often 🙂 Hugs from Mamma

    • misscrk says:

      I think that sounds like a really great idea!:) You can visit my kitchen any time you want, maybe we can make “suksessterte” next time?:) Now that sounds like a very tasty plan!:)
      Love you mom!

  3. Susan says:

    We will have to try those here in CA, look great I just have to figure out the measurements! XO Susan

Leave a Reply

