Summer Time in our Garden, Part 4 The Birthday Present

June is my favorite month of the year, not only because it happens to be the month where I get to celebrate my birthday, but because it’s the start of summer and everyone just seems to be so happy! I love the feeling of walking around in this world which is finding it’s color again, smelling people BBQ’ing and hearing children play outside: all the signs of a great summer!

But as said, June is also the time of the year where I get to turn one year older and this year it happens to be so that I have turned the big 30!:) And yes, like a lot of other people, I have thought of turning 30, as turning old, but then I took a look in the mirror and realized that I don’t look that much different from when I was still 29, so I can live with that!:)  I guess we all have to grow up at some point, at least a little, and now it was my turn. But there are some great positive sides to big birthdays as well; you also get to wish for great big gifts, so I decided to wish for a really big one!:)

Graden 4-1

My present’s weight was about 80-100 kg (about 176-220lbs), it was more than 2m long and 1m wide and was delivered with a great big truck! We all know it’s not going to be jewelry, but it does kind of look like some type of puzzle! I was so excited as the package got delivered, but I was told I was not allowed to open it before my darling boyfriend could be there to help me!:)

Graden 4-2

Well, it was not really a puzzle, but it was a built it our self project and I’m very glad that my darling boyfriend is a very strong man, because these pieces were not easy to hold in place or screw together. However, after a short hour of drilling, screwing and crawling around on the grass, my birthday present finally looked like just what I had been wishing for:

Graden 4-4

A wooden Picnic Table! To be more exact is this a Picknickbank “X-tra!” from Picknickbank.de. The Picnic Table is 200cm long and 170 wide and can seat about 8 people (I would say you could seat 8 small people, but for gown up’s having dinner, I would say it doesn’t seat more than 6).

Graden 4-7

I have been looking into different types of furniture for our garden for a while now, but the problem was all along that we needed to be able to bring everything inside at night, which has resulted in us spending far less evenings outside enjoying the summer than what I was hoping for. It’s not that we live in such an unsafe neighborhood, I really think we could let anything stay outside and nothing would happen to it, but when my darling boyfriend insists, when I play along. We also don’t have that much extra space inside our apartment and we don’t have a garage, so we needed something that would survive staying outside the whole year. And the solution; a Picnic table that made 6mm think waterproof wood and which weighs about 100kg. This piece of garden furniture can stand outside the whole year without a problem, and without having to worry about someone picking it up and taking it with them. Perfect for out garden!

Graden 4-3

Since the table has to stand on the grass, we decided to get 30x30cm big concrete tiles for the feet to stand on, which we made holes for in the grass. This way the wood won’t be exposed to constant humidity from the grass, which will hopefully also keep the wood nice and dry through out the year.

Graden 4-6
And as we celebrated my big birthday with my parents, we also got to use the Picnic Table for the first time! A perfect summer evening with great good and wonderful company! What more can a birthday girl ask for!:)

Feels Great to see our Garden coming together, now we are just waiting for the sun to come out again!

– Christine

Gallery | This entry was posted in A little bit of carpentry, The Garden, The Place I call Home! and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Summer Time in our Garden, Part 4 The Birthday Present

  1. Chris Thornton says:

    And of course you have colorful cushions and placemats. Happy birthday!

  2. Brenda says:

    Dear Christine: Your table is perfectly colorful and so inviting!! Happy Birthday!!

    • misscrk says:

      Thank you Brenda! I decided that this year I would use lots of bright colors in the garden and it turned out to be such a happy place!

  3. Tandra says:

    Happy Birthday! What a sweet tablescape! I have to admit I was drooling a little over the “brotchen” (I had to start following the blog, once I hear you’re living in Germany AND that you used to be out here in sunny Cali!) We’ll have to link up sometime!

    • misscrk says:

      Thank you! And thank you for following my blog! One of the parts I love most about blogging is that you are able to connect with people from all over the world and share a part of your world with them. I love living here in the south of Germany, but I would be lying if I said I didn’t miss California like crazy!:)

Leave a Reply

