Vanilla Cream and Cinnamon Knots

I was enjoying a very lazy evening at home last night, just surfing around online, getting some Fall inspirations from all of those wonderful blogs out there and running through my Facebook page roll when saw that the wonderful Barbara from finfint. had posted this great link; Recept på Leilas blåbärsbullar (Recipe for Leila’s blueberry rolls). It was the perfect inspiration for a rainy and cold fall evening at home and I just knew I had to do some baking!

The blueberry rolls looked so delicious, however blueberries is not something that I had laying around here at home, so I started looking for another great ingredients to add to cinnamon rolls and I found vanilla cream! My mom used to make this cake out of cinnamon rolls and vanilla cream, a Princess Cake, and I set out to make something like that!

But yes, it’s not a secret that I need a recipe when I want to bake, so I did some research and founds these two great recipes for cinnamon rolls with vanilla cream; Gunhild i et eggeskall and årsvollhjemmebakeri. These recipes are both in Norwegian, so I have done some quick translations to share how to make my delicious Vanilla Cream and Cinnamon Knots with you:

For the dough I used the recipe “Sollskinnsboller” from Gunhild i et eggeskall;

100 gram Butter/Margarine
4 dl Milk
11 dl All Purpose Flour
6 table spoons Suggar
1 tea spoon Cardamom
50 gram Fresh Yeast

1) Melt the butter in a pot and add the milk. The mixture should have around 37 degrees (about 97 degrees Fahrenheit) and then add the yeast.
2) Mix all the dry ingredients (I didn’t add the Cardamom, just because I wanted the Cinnamon to be the more important part of the flavor) , and then add the butter, milk and yeast mixture to it. Mix it all together until you have a nice smooth dough, you can use a mixer if you want. Then let it raise until it’s doubled in size, which takes about 30 minutes.

Then I used “Kanelsnurrer, trinn for trinn” from årsvollhjemmebakeri for the recipe of how to make the great Knots;

1) Roll the dough out in a big rectangle.
2) Cover the dough rectangle with vanilla cream, sugar and Cinnamon, and fold the sides like you see in the pictures from the recipe.
3) Cut your new rectangle into about 2 cm wide pieces, twist them and place then in a paper lined Cupcake form (like seen in the picture above).
4) Bake them for about 12 minutes in an owen set to 200 degrees Celsius (392 degrees Fahrenheit)
5) Time to call your friends and family over for a real fall appropriate treat!

Enjoy the Vanilla Cream and Cinnamon Knots!

– Christine

Gallery | This entry was posted in Baking, Magic from the Kitchen and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Vanilla Cream and Cinnamon Knots

  1. Barbara says:

    Yay! I always wanted to know how to do the knots! And cinnamon and vanilla go perfectly together!
    Hugs
    Barbara

  2. Gro says:

    Mmmmmmm………. I can just imagine the smell of fresh bakery.

  3. Chris Thornton says:

    Those look delicious!

    • misscrk says:

      They were delicious too!!:) But I’m very glad I was able to bring most of them with me to friends of ours! It just wouldn’t have been safe to have them all at home, just standing around!:)

  4. Jannicke Kristoffersen says:

    Jammi!!!:) I will try to make those one rainy day!!👍😊

    • misscrk says:

      Yes, these are the best! And even better is that they taste just as good on the second and the third day too!: Another reason why I just can not make them very often!:)

Leave a Reply

