The Birthday Boy’s Cupcakes

Everyone who know’s me, know’s that I’m not much of a cook or a backer, so for me to be posting recipes of any kinds would not make much sense. However, I do play around in the kitchen every now and then, or well, I try my best to make something magical happen when other people ask me to help out by making a cake or something like that.

For those of you who read my post Invitations made for a young Knight   know’s that the son of our upstairs neighbor will shortly be truing 4 years old and there will of course be a great big birthday party coming up. I did after a little persuasion volunteer to make the invitations, and now I also somehow ended up being in charge of making Cupcakes! Yes, I once again just couldn’t say no, the little boy is just too cute!:) But since I’m not all that creative in the kitchen and since my neighbor insisted that the Cupcakes could not come from one of those wonderful ready to mix boxes and had to be made from scratch, I needed to do a test run! So this is what I was up to this weekend; Cupcakes!

I made vanilla Cupcakes with vanilla buttercream icing, a recipe I got from Det Søte Liv… a wonderful Norwegian website that has the most amazing cake recipes. The recipe I used was called Magnolia Vanilla Cupcakes, a recipe that was taken from the cookbook “More from Magnolia – Recipes from the World-Famous Bakery” (2004). If you want to know more about the Magnolia Bakery or their cookbook go to: www.magnoliabakery.com

But for the creative person I am, just making the Cupcakes was not my type of fun, so I did some research about how to decorate Cupcakes and how make them more personalized! And everywhere I looked were these Cupcake toppers, which you could of course buy, but to a price I was not willing to pay. So I made these with the help of a little Word editing, a somewhat thinker piece of paper and our printer. I cut out the little printed paper circles (two circles for each Cupcake topper, for front and back), used double sticking tape and tooth picks, and voilà, I had my very own personalized Cupcake toppers!

To apply the icing I simply made my own icing bag with the used of a plastic bag and made a little icing swirl on top. Then I added some dark grated chocolate and a color full M&M.

But my Cupcakes did of course not only have to look good, they also had to past the taste test of the lille 4 year old. Little Leon got the choice between the fun decorated Vanilla Cupcakes with the Vanilla Buttercream Icing, the normal Vanilla Cupcakes without icing and Chocolate Chip Cupcakes, and the winner goes to: The Chocolate Chip Cupcakes!

Leon was not ut all impressed by the icing and the decorations, it was just all too sticky and too sweet, instead he was all about the chocolate chips! Something that I found funny, because the Chocolate Chip Cupcakes was something I made just for fun with the left over batter!

I also made a few Vanilla Cupcakes with icing just like my mom used to do when I was little, but these were made just for me, a little nostalgia!

The icing is made of just powder sugar and a little water mixed together, and can of course be mixed with any color food-coloring  to fit a themed party or event.

Oh, and yes, they tasted good too!! 🙂 I did have to agree with little Leon about finding the icing a little bit too much and too sweet, but the icing does make the cupcake look a lot more fun!

If you are looking for a wonderful and creative blog full with the most amazing recipes and great ideas, I suggest that you take a look at finfintfeinerblog.wordpress.com. Finfint. is a beautifully written Blog by a young lady from Dusseldorf, Germany, a Blog so absolutely worth taking a look at!

– Christine

Gallery | This entry was posted in Birthdays, Magic from the Kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Birthday Boy’s Cupcakes

  1. That is so nice of you Christine! How sweet! These cupcakes look delicious (vanilla buttercream, awww) and I love the decorations. I have posted some links for cute cupcake forms in response to your comment on my blog. Have a great and sunny Sunday evening. Love
    Barbara

    • misscrk says:

      Thank you so much for links to the cupcake forms! It’s amazing how many options there are, but then again, that’s what makes baking fun for those of us who really are not that creative in the kitchen!:)

  2. Pingback: A Castle made for a young Knights Cupcakes | misscrk the blog

Leave a Reply

