A room through Time Part 2

I have been having so much fun going through old photos the last few days, so I wanted this post to be a continuation of the last post I posted. In my last post I showed and talked about the transformation of our old up stairs living room through the years, but this time I will show how my own style changed through the years; Welcome to my old childhood bedroom.

1996

These pictures are from 1996, the year I turned 13 years old, and were taken just after my parents bough our home. I was so excited about getting a new and much bigger bedroom, but most of all about getting to design my very first room. I don’t think I have ever been as proud as what I was about the end result of this room, it was really everything I had wanted and more.

In trend with time times I wanted my walls dark burgundy, my white bed was painted dark green and all my new furniture was made of untreated natural wood. The white bedspread was crocheted by my grandmother (a bedspread that’s very dear to my heart and which I still have today) and the curtains was made by my mother.

2003

In 2003 I returned home to my bedroom after having been away 9 months long for a language school in California. I was at this point getting older and wanted a more grown up space, but at the same time the room should serves a place for me to study.

I could sadly enough only find one single picture of the room from this time (which was just before I got my first digital camera), but to describe the room: All the walls were painted white, I kept all my untreated natural wood furniture, but added a new and bigger bed with a bedspread in navy blue, white and red (which I made myself) and new navy blue sofa.

2009

In 2009 I once again returned back home after a stay in California, but this time after 5 years of studying at California State University, Northridge. After 5 years of studying Interior Design there was no question in my mind, the room had be redesigned and I wanted the room to be much brighter.

I spent days preparing and painting the ceiling, but the end result does not only make the room look much larger, but through the use of high glossy paint, the ceiling reflects the light in a much better. All my old untreated natural wood furniture were sold way and new and more time right pieces from IKEA were added.

On the other side of the room I created a great place for reading and a fun wall displaying pictures and art from and off my little sister. And as you can see did grandma’s crocheted bedspread make it into this room too, but here serving as a decorative element.

I think is very important to incorporate special finds or memories into our interiors. The California Sign I got as a graduation present from the wonderful family I know in California, and will always be an important part of my home. On the table I have a picture of my little sister and I, silk roses in a soft pink color, a fun lamp from IKEA and on the wall in the back ground two gold angles that’s has been on the wall in my bedroom since I was little.

These two old hat boxes are also two pieces that I just love! I think it’s so great to incorporate unique finds or heirloom pieces into your interior, and these two brings history and different and exciting textures to the room. Love, love, love, these hat boxes!!!

Through these last two post I have learned how important it is to take pictures and to hold on to those pictures. Our minds might remember what everything used to look like, but when we want to tell others about it, pictures will go much further than words. Two pictures too many is much better than two pictures not taken!

– Christine

Gallery | This entry was posted in misscrk interior design and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A room through Time Part 2

  1. malte says:

    so interesting to see how the room has been transformed over the years!
    you should do a “living room” and “kitchen” special of the old house! 🙂

    • misscrk says:

      I would love to do a Kitchen and Living room Post from the old house, but the problem is that there are so few pictures taken from what it used to look like before we redecorated everything! These day’s I take pictures with the idea of sharing them in mind, so I make sure to capture details and interesting things, but no one did that before we all had digital cameras!

  2. Wow! It’s amazing how different the room looks. I really like it. And I just love these two hat boxes! Where did you find them?

    • misscrk says:

      Hello Barbara!! So I believe that every interior should have one or two pieces that are just unique, something that makes other people wonder where you got them or pieces that has a great history! The black leather hat box is my grandmothers old hat box, from those days where you actually bought hats and they came with a great boxes to keep them in. And the second box, which is made of wood with leather straps, is also a hat box, but was bought by my father. My father has collected, bought and sold antiques for as long as I can remember, and this hat box is one of those pieces I just fell in love with and it kind of just became mine over time!:) I think with a little big of luck you could find something like them at a second hand store or an antique store!

Leave a Reply

